Grafton’s Alumy Creek School Museum is listed as a significant heritage site. The restored weatherboard school and residence, in their original location, provide an opportunity to step back to school days of the 1930s. Housed in an 1872 school building, the classroom has fixed desks and seats, inkwells and a large display of artefacts and memorabilia from the 1870s on. The grounds feature two huge Moreton Bay Fig trees which were planted in 1890 at the request of the teacher who was concerned at the lack of shade.
The museum began as a bicentennial project. The school, which closed in 1969, had been used as a storage depot and was in a bad state of disrepair until the Alumy Creek Reserve Trust became involved in its restoration.
(02) 6642 2598
Hours of Operation
Open: Last Saturday of each month or by appointment
Member for 2 years 6 weeks
Australian National Museum of Education
University of Canberra
Australian Capital Territory 2601
Phone: +61 2 62012473